Article Tools

Font size
Share This

The following proclamation was issued by Mayfield Mayor Alexander Chelik:

WHEREAS, the Boy Scouts of America, since its founding in 1910, has provided training to youth in leadership development, service to others, and civic responsibility; and

WHEREAS, since its organization in 1933, Mayfield Troop #87 has provided a scouting program that has produced prior to this evening, fifty-three Eagle Scouts; and

WHEREAS, Jonathan Nowak and Michael Nowak had passed their Eagle board of review on April 17, 2019, and Christian Swatt passed his Eagle board of review on August 14, 2019, becoming the 54th, 55th, and 56th Eagle Scouts of Troop #87; and;

WHEREAS, all three scouts completed all of the requirements necessary to become an Eagle Scout, including completion of a project to the benefit of their communities, including Jonathan’s refurbishment of the Mayfield Borough Playground, and Michael making necessary repairs to the Mayfield Sacred Heart of Jesus Cemetery, and Christian repainting the flagpole at the Methodist Church in Jermyn; and

NOW THEREFORE I, Alexander J. Chelik, by virtue of the powers invested in me as Mayor by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, do hereby proclaim January 5, 2020, as “Mayfield Eagle Scout Recognition Day” in honor of Boy Scout Troop #87’s latest Eagle Scouts Jonathan Nowak, Michael Nowak, and Christian Swatt and urge all residents of the Borough of Mayfield and surrounding communities to pay tribute to these three Eagle Scouts of Troop #87, and wish them success in all their future endeavors, in testimony whereof I do set my signature to this proclamation on this day, December 20, 2019.

Alexander J. Chelik Mayor of Mayfield