Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: Wes Killingbeck/KRT, License: N/A

300 dpi 4 col x 4.75 in / 196x121 mm / 667x410 pixels Wes Killingbeck color illustration of hands placing paper votes into red, white and blue ballot box with a lock. San Jose Mercury News 2005

KEYWORDS: ballot box vote voting american democracy lock paper voter krtgovernment government krtnational national krtpolitics politics krteln election krteln2004 krteln2006 krtuspolitics u.s. us united states krt llustration ilustracion grabado balota caja manos americano democracia eleccion sj contributor coddington killingbeck 2005 krt2005

Primary election time is just around the corner (see our Voters’ Guide, featuring statements from many of the local candidates, beginning on page 14). Wwhile this is just the preliminary vote, in many communities one party dominates, and the winner of the primary is likely to be the winner in November. That’s why it’s so important to make sure your voice is heard in the primary.

Before the first vote is cast, however, it’s safe to say that four communities are going to have new mayors. That’s because Tony Zaleski in Dickson City, Jayme Morano in Olyphant, Stanley Lukowski in Throop and Ed Fairbrother in Archbald have all decided to not to run again.

In Archbald, Shirley Grabin Barrett, David Moran and Lawrence West are vying for the post.

In Archbald’s Borough Council race, Bill Durkin, Jeff Munley, Kenneth Propst, John Shnipes Jr. and Maria Tomassoni are competing for the three open seats. William Gerard Gilroy and Katie Grogan Noldy are competing for the tax collector post.

In Dickson City, Kimberlee Midura and Stanley J. Prushinski have tossed their hats into the ring for the Democratic nomination for mayor. Meanwhile, Richard Cesari, Sara Edwards, Robert E. Hall Jr., Paul Kwiec, Barbara Keegan Mecca and Peter “Chuck” Novajosky are competing for the three open seats on borough council.

Anthony Adamitis is running unopposed for tax collector and Robert W. MacCallum is unopposed for controller.

In Olyphant, things are even less complicated, with John Sedlak Jr. running unopposed for the Democratic nomination for mayor, with no one seeking the Republican nomination. In the council race, David R. Krukovitz, Robert Kurilla, Eugene L. Liberty, Dave Mitchko and Gerard Tully are vying for the three open seats.

James A. Liparulo is unopposed in the race for tax collector.

In Throop Vince Tanana and Wayne Williams are competing for the mayoral post. In council, where four seats are open, James A. Barnick, Neil Furiosi, Thomas J. Lukasewicz, Mark Mazak, Robert Magliocchi and John Musewicz are running. Adam F. Nosak is unopposed for tax collector.

But other communities will apparently keep their mayors.

In Blakely Borough, for example, longtime mayor Jeanette Acciare-Mariani is running unopposed. Likewise in council, Jeffrey Cruciani, Louis Parri and Joseph Quinn are running for the three open seats, and Deborah Vitkus Rotell is unopposed for tax collector.

In Jermyn Borough, Mayor (and, briefly, county commissioner) Bruce A. Smallacombe is unopposed on the Republican side of the aisle, and there is no one running for the Democratic nomination, In council, two seats are open, and Robert P. Parks III and Jeffrey Christopher McDermott are running for them. Ann Marie DeSanto is unopposed for tax collector.

In Jessup Borough, another longtime mayor, Beverly Merkel, is running unopposed, while Maggie Alunni, Jim Brunozzi, Michael Gasper, Nick Marino and Joseph Mellado are in the race for the four open seats. Robert Wasilchak is unopposed for controller and Genevieve Lupini is unopposed for tax collector.

In Mayfield Borough, Alexander J. Chelik is running unopposed for mayor, while Thomas J. Gallagher, Janice R. Joyce, George Pittsman Jr. are running on the Democratic side for the three open seats, and John F. Kleinbauer is running for the Republican nomination. Diane Bachak is running unopposed for tax collector.

In Greenfield Township, Tom Cerra and Gerald J. Snyder Jr. are running for supervisor on the Democratic side and J. Eric Hendrickson is the lone Republican candidate. Donald J. Flynn is unopposed on the Republican side for tax collector.

In Scott Township, Bob Rocko Mroczka, Bob Noldy, Steven Russell and Stanley E. Stracham are running for supervisor on the Democratic ticket, and Dave Makala and Thomas J. Smith are competing for the nomination on the Republican side. Michael R. Ciuccoli Sr. is unopposed for the Democratic nomination for tax collector.