Article Tools

Font size
Share This


Carbondale Area student Olivia Manarchuck was chosen to represent her school at the Hugh O’Brien Youth (HOBY) leadership conference in May. She is the daughter of Andrew and Lisa Manarchuck.

She is a member of The Charger Express newspaper staff, an active member of student council and is the president of the sophomore class. She is also in the medical careers club and active in Students Against Destructive Decisions. She is also a participating member in the science and technology club, PJAS, and the Spanish club. She is a part of our Prosper Team.

The HOBY leadership conference provides an opportunity for high school sophomores to recognize their potential talents and apply them in becoming effective, ethical leaders of the future. There are approximately 70 leadership seminars held each spring in all 50 states and Canada.

Hugh O’Brien, the actor who portrayed the legendary lawman Wyatt Earp on television, started the program in 1958.

Tomorrow’s Leader

Calista Calabro, Kristina Gorel and Noah Mauro were chosen this year to represent Carbondale Area in the program “Tomorrow’s Leaders Today.” One Thursday each month, these students meet with 35 other juniors from surrounding schools in Lackawanna County and attend workshops concerning leadership qualities of teens in our community.

TLT is designed to give high school juniors leadership, interpersonal and managerial skills, an enhanced understanding of northeastern Pennsylvania and the opportunity to explore teamwork.

Honor Societies

• Local residents were among the 77 University of Scranton students inducted into Omega Beta Sigma, the women’s business honor society. Induction is open to students who major or minor in business, have at least sophomore academic standing, and have a grade point average of 3.25 or higher. The University’s honor society was established in 1982. Students inducted were Christina Parry of Peckville and Erica Russen of Scott Township.

• Kyle Burrell of Simpson was among The University of Scranton students inducted into Pi Mu Epsilon, the national honor society for mathematics majors. To be considered for induction, students must be in their junior or senior year, have an overall grade point average of 3.33 or higher and a grade point average of 3.5 or higher in mathematics.

• Kyle Kerekes of Scott Township was among The University of Scranton students inducted into Sigma Nu Tau, the honor society for entrepreneurship. The honor society is open to entrepreneurship majors and minors who have achieved junior class standing, have a GPA of at least 3.2 and strong entrepreneurial spirit, honor and integrity.

• Local residents were among 31 University of Scranton students inducted into Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society of nursing. For induction into the honor society, students must have completed one half of the nursing curriculum, demonstrated ability in nursing, have a grade point average of at least 3.0 and rank in the upper one-third of the class. Senior students inducted are Breann Boyarsky of Scott Township and Matthew Miles of Throop.

Summer Scholarship

Carbondale Area sophomore, McKinley Borders, has been awarded a full scholarship to attend the Lacawac Sanctuary Field Science Academy this summer. She will spend June 17-22 at Lacawac Field Station in Lake Ariel. She interviewed for this scholarship through the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science (PJAS).

McKinley has participated in the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science for the past two years and both years received a first-place award and continuing on to the state competition.

Youth Summit

Jessica Borders, a student at Carbondale Area, has been selected to represent her school as a National Youth Delegate to the 2018 Washington Youth Summit on the environment at George Mason University. Borders joins a select group of 300 students from across the country to participate in an intensive, week-long study of leadership in environmental science and conservation.

Borders was chosen based on academic accomplishments and a demonstrated interest and excellence in leadership in the sciences and conservation studies.