Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Amelia Zazzera is the third academic honor at Carbondale-Area.

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Christina Carachilo is salutatorian at Carbondale-Area.

College Grad

Robert Moran of Jermyn, is graduate of the Class of 2018 at Widener Law Commonwealth

Dean’s List

• Cameron Bullet of Jermyn has been named to the spring 2018 dean’s list at Loyola University in Maryland.

• Drew University student Victor Cortes of Jermyn has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester.

Class of 2018

Carbondale Area Jr.-Sr. High School’s graduates in 2018 were: Sydney Marie Algayer, Ashlynn Joy Allison, Angela Arendt, Kyle Anthony Artley, Samantha A. Artone, Jennifer Bach, Ryan Balinas, Jonathan Born, Nina Marie Bowen, Tatyanna Brooker, Angel Marie Browder, Anthony J. Bucklaw, Colin James Burke, Frank Burke, Christina Bianca Carachilo, Nathan Chludzinski, Alexis Clift, Shawn Elias Connolly, Brianna Lynn Curtis, Olivia Noel Davidson, Taylor Decknick, Breanna Marie Dombroski, Arianna Donnelly, Katelyn Rose Dovin, Devin Joseph Escott, Zachariah Michael Freiman, Reece Fuchs, Thor George, Emily Sue Gerek, Vincent Gigliotti, Austin Goble, Marcus Gomez, Collin J. Heenan, Alyssa Herring, Jaden Z. Hudson, Cody Hummell, Paige Love Jacobino, Hayley Jankowski, William Jacob Johannes, Paige Jones, Brody O. Kelly, Madeline Kelly, Andrew Larson, Zachary James Laub, Scot Linehan, Kamryn Ashley Liuzzo, Joseph Jerome Maddage, Cody L. Malaker, Andrew P. Manarchuck, Taylor Marecki, Steve A. Martin, Jaime A. Martinez, Matthew Charles McCaffery, Megan Lynn McDonald, Kayla McDonough, Kayci McEathron, Audrey May Murphy, Joshua Novobilski, Seeley Oliver, Chance Olsewski, Christian Ortiz, Emily Parry, Ariana Pigeon, Alyssa Postlethwaite, Tressa Rose Potis, Casey Prawdzik, Madison Frances Puza, Olivia Nicole Regal, Tunaja Riley, Joseph Michael Rinaldi, Wilson Rodriguez, Dajah Romero, Jordan Jacob Rosetti, Abagayle Lynn Rumford, Bailey Matthew Rumford, Davena Russell, Robert Salitsky, Ethen Xavier Santanna, Kaitlyn Marie Savage, Sarah Elizabeth Sawyer, Robert Scarpa, Salina M. Shock, Cordell Siggins, Dion Snell, Haley Megan Snyder, Aubree Mae Sopko, Shane Michael Starbuck, Hanna Sweet, Bryanna M. Taylor, William Stephen Thomas, Jordan James Tolerico, Mark Anthony Tolerico, Melissa Ann Torch, Brandy Travis, Tegan Trotter, Isobel Turonis, Vanessa Urda, Hailey Vanleuven, Anthony Voglino, Marc John Waller, Stephanie Ann Wayman, Brandon Keith Wetzel, Summer M. Wormuth and Amelia Zazzera.

Top of the Class

Carbondale Area High School has announced the following honor graduates of the Class of 2018:

Valedictorian: Kaitlyn Savage has been chosen as valedictorian. She is a member of the National Honor Society and the distinguished honor roll. Savage was also a member of the Spanish and library clubs, treasurer of the physics club and the Scholastic Bowl team. She was also on the prom and yearbook committees. She plans to attend Misericordia University to study education with a concentration in math and science. She is the daughter of Rose Hessing and Michael Savage of Carbondale.

Salutatorian: Christina Carachilo has been chosen as salutatorian. She is a member of the National Honor Society and treasurer of the Spanish club. She was a member of the PJAS, yearbook club, library club, varsity basketball and volleyball, physics club and student council. In addition, she was a member of the YMCA youth board and a member of Tomorrow’s Leaders Today. She has been accepted into the University of Scranton’s Neuroscience/PreMed program and plans to be a pediatrician. She is the daughter of Dominick and Mary Carachilo of Carbondale.

Third Academic Honor: Amelia Zazzera, daughter of Steve and Alicia Zazzera of Carbondale, is the third academic honor of the class of 2018. She was secretary of the physics club, vice president of the Spanish club, treasurer of student council and treasurer of National Honor Society. Zazzera is also a member of the library club and medical careers club. She participated in PJAS for six years, winning many first-place awards. She is a six-year member of the National Honor Society as well as a six-year member of the Academic Honors Program. She was on the varsity basketball and volleyball teams for four years. She plans to attend Penn State University where she will pursue a degree in biology.