Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: Submitted, License: N/A

From left: Jack Henzes, Students Against Destructive Decisions moderator at Dunmore High School; Kristin Hogan, art teacher at Dunmore High School; Jeff Zerechak, director of commission; Dr. Larry Grossinger, advisory board chairman for the commission; student Sarah Ruane, Lackawanna County Commissioner Michael J. Washo; and Patricia Blahnik, district manager at Wachovia Bank.

The Lackawanna County Commission on Drug and Alcohol Abuse recently presented awards to 30 area students who won the commission’s annual holiday poster contests. The five high school finalists, who received bonds from Wachovia Bank and plaques from the commission were Sarah Ruane of Dunmore High School (first place), Jason Bernotsky of Dunmore High School (second place) Samantha Rogowski of Carbondale-Area High School (third place), and Alex Abdalla and Corrine Remetta, both of Dunmore High School (both honorable mention). The first-place artwork was displayed on six billboards, 6,000 buttons, 200 posters and at the main Wachovia Bank branch in Scranton .

The elementary poster contest winners will have their artwork displayed in a 2010 prevention calendar sponsored by Lackawanna County District Attorney, Andrew J. Jarbola. The calendar cover design was submitted by Abby Schroth of Marian Catholic. Monthly winners included Jasmine Cobb of Carbondale Elemnetary, Gabby Cassaro of Carbondale, Chris Cerminaro of Carbondale, Christopher Larson of Carbondale, Erin Feeney of Our Lady of Peace, Alex Tarapchak of Marian Catholic, Kendra Frankovsky of Lakeland Elementary, Gillian Gerega of Our Lady of Peace, Emma Joyce Perih of Marian Catholic, Daniel Belardi of Marian Catholic, Emily Van Wert of All Saints Academy and Anthony Viscomi of Frances Willard Elementary.

Students receiving honorable mention were also featured in a calendar. They were: Summer Giron of Carbondale Area, Alyssa Napora of LaSalle Academy, Bradley Kerl of Carbondale-Area, Alyssa Sacknievich of Carbondale Area, Tony Papi of Riverside Elementary East, Alexandria Arbie of Marian Catholic, Riley Hesser of Marian Catholic, Jill Cikowski of Marian Catholic, Giavanna Villano of Valley View Intermediate, Gianna Sacchetti of LaSalle Academy, Caitlin Pagnotti of Frances Willard and Marisa Kelly of Marian Catholic.

The winners were chosen from the 1,991 entries from 27 Lackawanna County schools.